Contact Us | News | Site Directory | Calendar | Sign Up for E-Alerts

Conservation Commission

The mission of the Conservation Commission is to administer the Wetland Protection Act, General Laws Chapter 131 section 40, the Erosion and Sedimentation Control ordinance and the local conservation ordinance in such a way as to protect the natural resources of the City of Fitchburg.

The Commission is comprised of 7 volunteer residents. Each volunteer is appointed by the Mayor, subject to City Council approval, and serves a three year term.

Conservation Commission generally meets on the last Tuesday of the month at 6 p.m. in the Conference Room of the Fitchburg Municipal Offices at Putnam Place, 166 Boulder Drive. However, meeting dates are occasionally subject to change, and meeting agendas are sometimes full. Applicants are advised to contact Mike O'Hara in the Community Development Office, Planning Division at: 978-829-1891 to confirm meeting dates.

Current Commissioners

John Koutonen, Chair
Dennis DeGara
Michael Donnelly
Haris Karis
Tracey Sarefield
Thomas P. Starr
David Streb
Tim Smith, Consultant

Commission Meeting Schedule, Agenda & Minutes

2015 Commission Meeting Dates


Quick Links

Planning Division




Rules & Regs

General Information


166 Boulder Drive, STE 108
Fitchburg, MA 01420


(978) 829-1891



Mon-Fri 8:30am - 4:30pm